There appears to be some misunderstanding regarding the spinnaker pole/bowsprit rule change.

If a bowsprit boat decides to carry a spinnaker pole as well, the IRC rating will increase, but will not incur the additional penalty which previously applied.   Effectively the boat would rate as if it had a spinnaker pole of the same length as the bowsprit, which would be higher than a bowsprit of
that length.

If owners of bowsprit boats are thinking of adding a spinnaker pole we suggest that a trial is run to determine the effect on TCC.

We apologise for any confusion!


Jenny Howells

Technical Secretary


Can't find the answer?

If you cannot find the answer to your question, please contact the RORC Rating Office
To report broken links on this site contact

Header images by:

John Crawley (CAN IRC)  
Jinno (c/o JPN IRC)
Back to top