There appears to be some misunderstanding regarding the spinnaker pole/bowsprit rule change.

If a bowsprit boat decides to carry a spinnaker pole as well, the IRC rating will increase, but will not incur the additional penalty which previously applied.   Effectively the boat would rate as if it had a spinnaker pole of the same length as the bowsprit, which would be higher than a bowsprit of
that length.

If owners of bowsprit boats are thinking of adding a spinnaker pole we suggest that a trial is run to determine the effect on TCC.

We apologise for any confusion!

 

Jenny Howells

Technical Secretary

23/01/02

Can't find the answer?

If you cannot find the answer to your question, please contact the RORC Rating Office info@rorcrating.com
To report broken links on this site contact webmaster@ircrating.org

Header images by:

John Crawley (CAN IRC)  
Jinno (c/o JPN IRC)
 
 
 
Back to top