- Last Updated on Sunday, 09 September 2012 04:46
There appears to be some misunderstanding regarding the spinnaker pole/bowsprit rule change.
If a bowsprit boat decides to carry a spinnaker pole as well, the IRC rating will increase, but will not incur the additional penalty which previously applied. Effectively the boat would rate as if it had a spinnaker pole of the same length as the bowsprit, which would be higher than a bowsprit of
If owners of bowsprit boats are thinking of adding a spinnaker pole we suggest that a trial is run to determine the effect on TCC.
We apologise for any confusion!